Skip to main content

COMM 1100: Human Communication Theories - Brennan

Finding Op-Eds

The Assignment and Op-Eds Defined

The Assignment:

"...select an op-ed piece from a newspaper or magazine, for instance, a political speech or stated political platform, a message from a non-profit organization, or other persuasive texts." - from Prof. Brennan's Analyzing Rhetorical Acts assignment

Editorials and Op-Eds Defined:

  • ed·i·to·ri·al (ĕd′ĭ-tôr′ē-əl) n. An article in a publication expressing the opinion of its editors or publishers.

  • op-ed (ˈɒpˌɛd) n. Usually printed opposite the editorial page, a page or column written by someone not affiliated with the publishing company.

Finding Opinions in Library Resources

On this page, I will lay out some of the best ways to locate opinion articles in various library resources. From browsing by a topic to searching with keywords in library databases, the following suggestions will help you start the process of

Option 1: Use All Search to search for Op-Eds and Your Topic (limit content to Newspaper and Magazine).

Find Articles in Journals

  
Advanced Search

 

Before searching in a specialized subject database, you might want to try a broad interdisciplinary database, like our new All Search tool.

Option 2: Search Newspaper Databases for Op-Eds and Your Topic

Databases with full text access to newspapers from around the world:

Option 3: Still Need a Topic? Browse Controversial Topics

Browse by a controversial topic, collect keywords to search for articles with, and skim linked opinion piece articles.

Option 4: Search in a Specific Journal

If you want to search within a specific journal such as The New York Times or Wall Street Journal, do a title search below. You will be brought to an index of all of the library's databases that contain articles from that journal, and which years of coverage they contain. After clicking on one, you can then do an advanced search for Op-Ed AND a topic (example: Donald Trump). You can even set a range of time, such as last 30 days or last year.

Find specific journals,magazines, and newspapers.

   


Watch the video below to learn how to find an article if you have the citation.

Ask a Librarian

Research Librarians's picture
Research Librarians
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University

Text: 203.295.7542
Schedule a research appointment