The DiMenna-Nyselius Library is open. To learn more about our resources and services, visit the link below
Welcome to your library course guide for EDUC 6552. I'll be assisting you by pointing to the best choices within our system and on the Internet for doing your research. Feel free to come back throughout the semester for help remembering where to go within the Library's resources to find good choices for your research.
What do you need help with?
Use databases to find articles on your topic. These databases are the best place to start.
Already have the citation? Find an article with citation linker !
Finding ERIC Documents
ERIC is available to Fairfield University students using the ProQuest database and also publicly accessible at http://eric.ed.gov/. There are two types of materials in ERIC: journal articles and grey literature. Grey literature may include research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
To find free access to the full text of other articles, contact the library to see if you can get access through another databases, via microfiche or through Interlibrary Loan.
Using Citations to Find Full Text
Using other people's bibliographies and works cited lists is a great way to find additional resources on a topic. Once you find a book or article related to your topic, review the bibliography for additional resources.
This three-minute video, created by librarians at North Carolina State University, provides an introduction to the process of peer review and its role in scholarly research, and concludes by pointing to libraries for further help in finding peer-reviewed articles.
Truncation: Append an asterisk to your keywords to include two or more variations of that word.
Example: gam* will search for game, games, gaming, gamer, etc.
Quotation Marks: Use quotes around your terms to search for a phrase.
AND/OR: Use AND to combine terms. Combine synonyms with OR and put them inside parentheses:
"Critical thinking" AND (elementary OR 1st OR 2nd)
Find specific journals,magazines, and newspapers.