It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ed·i·to·ri·al(ĕd′ĭ-tôr′ē-əl) n. An article in a publicationexpressingtheopinion of itseditors or publishers.
op-ed(ˈɒpˌɛd)n. Usually printed opposite the editorial page, a page or column written by someone not affiliated with the publishing company.
Finding Opinions in Library Resources
On this page, I will lay out some of the best ways to locate opinion articles in various library resources. From browsing by a topic to searching with keywords in library databases, the following suggestions will help you start the process of
Option 1: Search by your topic keywords and op-ed
Find Articles in Journals
Option 2: Search Library Newspaper Databases by topic keywords and op-ed
Funded in part by the generosity of the Flora and Jeremiah Buckley Library Fund. Contains local, regional, national, and international news with deep archives. Provides extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes as well as law reviews. Also includes business information on U.S. and international companies.
• Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, blogs, local-regional-national-international newspapers with deep archives
• Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790
• Business information on U.S. and international companies and executives
Enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.
Contains full-text acess to national and regional newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.
Provides access to international newspapers, primary source documents, country information, statistics, background sources, and videos that support global awareness to help with understanding current world issues.
Option 4: Search in a Specific Journal
If you want to search within a specific journal such as The New York Times or Wall Street Journal, do a title search below. You will be brought to an index of all of the library's databases that contain articles from that journal, and which years of coverage they contain. After clicking on one, you can then do an advanced search for Op-Ed AND a topic (example: Donald Trump). You can even set a range of time, such as last 30 days or last year.
Find specific journals,magazines, and newspapers.
Watch the video below to learn how to find an article if you have the citation.