provides more accurate cast/crew/release information than IMDB, as well as citations for newspaper and trade magazine reviews from the time of release
Did you know...
Wikipedia can be edited by anyone, so make sure you use another source to confirm the information you find there.
Reference Tools: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks
The sources listed below as well as the American Film Institute Catalog to the left will help you obtain some basic information about your films. Here is a list of some of the types of information you might find in these sources.
This collection of scholarly music encyclopedias and reference works includes Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. Also includes timelines and the Grove Opera Indexes. This content is updated regularly to reflect the latest scholarship. Simultaneous users limit: 3.
An online classical music library. Also contains a dictionary, work analyses, libretti and synopses of operas, and audiobook transcriptions. Headphones available at Circulation. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
This international yearly publication includes U.S. and international films. Best source for statistics and lists (top grossing films, awards, international film festivals, obituaries, producers, distributors and production services).
If you are replicating any of our guides as a template on your own site for use by your library's LibGuide authors, we would appreciate a brief attribution, e.g "Portions of this guide were built using suggestions from DiMenna-Nyselius Library, Fairfield University.”