Skip to Main Content

UPDATES REGARDING LIBRARY RESOURCES AND SERVICES

The DiMenna-Nyselius Library is open. To learn more about our resources and services, visit the link below

More details here.

AHST 1112: Etruscan and Roman Art and Archaeology

Historical Context

Library Catalog

Library Catalog

Find books, ebooks, music, movies and more.

Advanced Search | My Account

 

Researching Historical Context

Online:

  • Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
    Provides authoritative art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments during the Classical period.
  • The Oxford Classical Dictionary    
    Ref. DE 5 .O9 2003
    Signed articles cover biography, literature, mythology, and other aspects of the ancient world. All entries
    Include a bibliography.
  • The Encyclopedia of Ancient History
    Includes information on people, places, and events of the Ancient Mediterranean region, spanning from the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE.
    Online and In Print: Ref. D54 .E53 2013 V. 1-13
  • Oxford Reference Online Premium    
    Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Art, A Dictionary of World Mythology, Who’s Who in the Classical World, and The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World,  plus 200+ other subject dictionaries published by Oxford University Press.

Print:

  • Brill’s New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity 
    Ref. DE5 .N4813  
    A multi-volume encyclopedia that covers persons, places, events, and ideas from the Greek and Roman worlds.
  • Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization
    Ref. DE 5 .C28 2008
  • Edinburgh Companion of Ancient Greece & Rome
    Ref. DE 59 .E3 2006
  • Who's Who in the Roman World - Ref. DG 203 .H39 2001

  • The Roman Emperors - Ref. DG 274 .G73 1985

  • Chronicle of the Roman Emperors - Ref. DG 274 .S28 1995

  • Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire - Ref. DG 270 .B86 2002

  • Chronicle of the Roman Republic - Ref. DG 231 .M39 2003

Ask a Librarian

Profile Photo
Research Librarians
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University

Schedule a research appointment
CALL 203.254.4000 ext. 2188 or TEXT 203.295.7542
Website