Skip to Main Content

UPDATES REGARDING LIBRARY RESOURCES AND SERVICES

The DiMenna-Nyselius Library is open. To learn more about our resources and services, visit the link below

More details here.

AHST 1112: Etruscan and Roman Art and Archaeology

Subject Matter and Symbolism

Researching Subject Matter and Symbolism

Online Materials:

Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman Mythology (ebook)

The Oxford Classical Dictionary                                                       
Ref. DE 5 .O9 2003
Signed articles cover biography, literature, mythology, and other aspects of the ancient world. All entries include a bibliography.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome 
Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.                      

The Encyclopedia of Ancient History
Includes information on people, places, and events of the Ancient Mediterranean region, spanning from the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CD.
Online and In Print: Ref. D54 .E53 2013 V. 1-13

Print Materials:

Brill’s New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity - Ref. DE 5 .N4813                    
A multi-volume encyclopedia that covers persons, places, events, and ideas from the Greek and Roman worlds.

Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization - Ref. DE 5 .C28 2008

Who's Who in the Roman World - Ref. DG 203 .H39 2001

The Roman Emperors - Ref. DG 274 .G73 1985

Chronicle of the Roman Emperors - Ref. DG 274 .S28 1995

A Companion to Greek Art
Ref. N 5630 .C716 2012 V1-2
Authoritative account of the development of Greek art through the 1st millennium B, includes forms, materials, types, colonization, iconography, and reception of Greek art in post-classical periods
 
Dictionary of Subjects & Symbols in Art - Ref. N 7560 .H34 2008
A source that explains symbols and illustrates their use. Other helpful symbolism resources include the Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern & Western Art: Ref. N 7740 .H35 1994, Gods and Heroes in Art: Ref. N 7760 .I4713 2002, and Symbols and Allegories in Art: Ref N 7740 .B2913 2005.

Edinburgh Companion of Ancient Greece & Rome - Ref. DE 59 .E3 2006    

Who’s Who in Classical Mythology - Ref. BL 715 .G68 1993       

 

                               
 

Ask a Librarian

Profile Photo
Research Librarians
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University

Schedule a research appointment
CALL 203.254.4000 ext. 2188 or TEXT 203.295.7542
Website