Skip to main content

ENGL 2013 Shakespeare I -- Kelley

Finding Literary References

Finding Literary References through Secondary Sources

Edward Sugden’s Topographical Dictionary to the Works of Shakespeare and his Fellow Dramatists will be especially relevant when you are looking for any dramatic references to a street/site/playhouse. Sugden deals with all toponyms, not just London toponyms. Note that we cite Shakespeare from the Internet Shakespeare Editions.

 

Fran Chalfant’s dictionary of Ben Jonson’s London is useful for finding references to London in Ben Jonson’s plays. On Reserve

Finding Books and Articles about Places of Literary Significance

MoEML’s own bibliography of secondary sources aims to be an exhaustive bibliography of geocultural approaches to literature written about or set in London. We index relevant articles from the following journals: The London Journal, Early Theatre, and The Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies. We list articles from other journals as they come to our attention. We try to include all recent monographs and essay collections that deal with space, place, Stow, and/or early modern Londoners. Browsing our bibliography will give you the titles of many secondary sources you might want to find in your library. (Note that we don’t try to be exhaustive in our list of secondary historical sources; we include the sources cited in our project plus items that come to our attention.)

 

MLA International Bibliography. This electronic subscription bibliography may be useful for finding books and articles that will help you determine the literary significance of a street or site, or the theatre history of a playhouse. For example, the MLA International Bibliography includes all the articles in the 20087 Huntington Library Quarterly special issue on The Places and Spaces of Early Modern London. Your university library will almost certainly have access to this bibliography.