A database of online archival material reflecting the origins and development of Fairfield University. Includes yearbooks, campus newspapers, university magazines, posters, photographs, reports, special collections, and oral history videos/transcripts.
Library Databases with Images as Secondary Content
The databases listed below contain images along with other content, such as articles. Databases that allow you to filter your results for images are designated.
This set of primary source collections includes America’s Historical Imprints (includes American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819); America’s Historical Newspapers (includes African American Newspapers Series I, 1827-1998, Conecticut's Historical Newspapers); American State Papers; and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994, with maps.
Full-text of Cambridge History volumes published through 2012. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies.
An institutional repository service of the DiMenna-Nyselius Library, offers open access to the collected scholarship and creative works of Fairfield University faculty, students and staff.
The purpose of this repository is to increase the visibility of the University's scholarship, maximize its research impact, and provide worldwide access in order to further the University mission of expanding knowledge, deepening human understanding, and sharing expertise.
A collection of journals, magazines, newspapers, background sources, and primary documents that covers the most-studied events and issues in U.S. history. Contains images, video, and audio files, as well as primary source material.
A collection of journals, magazines, newspapers, background sources, and primary documents that covers world history from antiquity to the present. Contains images, video, and audio files, as well as primary source material.
Covers hot-button issues and contemporary topics in crime & justice, education, health & medicine, and more. Includes historical background and contemporary perspectives from a variety of primary and secondary sources, as well as images.
Database of digitized primary sources from the nineteenth century, curated by an international team of scholars and culled from the collections of the National Archives, the Library of Congress, the British Library, and other major repositories. Contains photographs, books, manuscripts, maps, letters, government documents, journals, and newspapers.
Collections available include:
-- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and cultural exchange
-- British politics and society
-- British theatre, music, and literature: High and popular culture
-- Children's Literature and Childhood
-- European literature 1790-1840: The Corvey collection
-- Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
-- Photography: The world through the lens
-- Religion, Spirituality, Reform, and Society
-- Science, technology, and medicine: 1780-1925
-- Women: Transnational networks.
This collection of scholarly art encyclopedias and reference works includes Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. This content is updated regularly to reflect the latest scholarship.