Skip to Main Content

UPDATES REGARDING LIBRARY RESOURCES AND SERVICES

The DiMenna-Nyselius Library is open. To learn more about our resources and services, visit the link below

More details here.

HIST 2281 - Portrait of the Arabs

Human Rights Agencies

Selected List of Human Rights Agencies

Organization and Website

Background

Amnesty International

Amnesty International is a UK based international human rights non-governmental organisation.  Amnesty’s Arabic language website contains thematic and country specific reports on human rights violations worldwide.

Arab Organisation for Human Rights (AOHR)

(IN ARABIC) AOHR is a Cairo based Arab regional non-governmental human rights organisation.  Its website includes copies of its annual reports.

Cairo Institute for Human Rights (CIHRS) – English Version

CIHRS is a Cairo based regional human rights research centre.  The main aim of CIHRS is to analyse and explain difficulties in implementing international human rights standards in Arab countries.  The website includes details of CIHRS’s research, training and publications.  CIHRS also operates an Arab Human Rights List Serv and it is possible to join the List Serv on this website.

Frontline Human Rights Defenders

Frontline is an Irish based non-governmental organisation that aims to protect people who work non-violently to promote all or any of the human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Human Rights Watch

Human Rights Watch is a United States based international human rights non-governmental organisation.  HRW’s Arabic language website contains thematic and country specific reports on human rights violations worldwide.

Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights

This website contains details of the reports and activities of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights.

United Nations Assistance Mission for Iraq

This is a web portal for United Nations agencies and non-governmental organisations working in Iraq.

United Nations Development Programme – Programme on Governance in the Arab Region

This web portal provides information on governance reform in the Arab States.

UNIFEM Arab States Regional Office

This is the official website of the Arab States Regional Office of the United Nations Development Fund for Women.

United Nations Web Portal on Human Rights

This web portal contains links to Arabic language versions of the United Nations human rights treaties and a United Nations document research guide.

United Nations Website on Terrorism

This website contains copies of UN Conventions, Declarations, reports and other documents on terrorism and describes the activities of the various UN agencies relating to terrorism.

University of Minnesota Human Rights Library

The University of Minnesota Human Rights Library houses one of the largest online collections of human rights materials including human rights treaties, training materials, search engines and extensive links.

Arab Human Rights Index (AHR)

The Human Rights Index for the Arab Countries, sponsored by the United Nations Development Programme on Governance in the Arab Region (UNDP-POGAR), is a repository for the entire set of United Nations documents pertaining to human rights and the responses, including reservations, by the Arab member states to the committees that monitor the core international human rights treaties.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Photo
Research Librarians
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University

Schedule a research appointment
CALL 203.254.4000 ext. 2188 or TEXT 203.295.7542
Website