General Background Info
-
Credo Reference Academic CoreA comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
-
Oxford Reference Online: PremiumEncyclopedias and dictionaries for the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
-
Britannica AcademicA general interest encyclopedia that is updated continually.
-
Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, this historical dictionary provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words traced through quotations from classic literature to contemporary and popular works. Also includes the Oxford Historical Thesaurus, timelines of words, and provides the ability to browse words by subject, usage, region, or origin.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
Reference tools such as dictionaries and encyclopedias are good places to start your research because they provide an overview of the topic as well as keywords, dates, and facts.
Search Tips:
- Try looking at the bibliography at the end of the entry for a list of other sources such as relevant journal articles and books.
- When you have found books on your topic, look at the books on the shelf nearby to see if they are related to your topic.
-
-
Dictionary of Public Policy and Administration by Call Number: Available onlinePublication Date: 2004 -
Handbook of Public Administration by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781574445602Publication Date: 2007 -
Handbook of Research Methods in Public Administration by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780849353840Publication Date: 2007 -
-
Encyclopedia of associations byCall Number: Available onlineExpand Organizations category for access to Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations, Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S., and
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local
Ask a Librarian
Research Librarians
Contact:
Did you know...
Wikipedia can be edited by anyone, so make sure you use another source to confirm the information you find there.
