Journal Locator
Find specific journals,magazines, and newspapers.
Beyond the DNL
Can't find the book or article you want?
Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! With ILL, you can:
- Use materials from other libraries' collections free of charge
- Get articles via e-mail within 3-5 business days
- Get books within 2 weeks
- Be notified by e-mail when your items arrive (physical materials will be held at the Library in your name)
Request materials online:
Other options for finding books:
-
WorldcatSearch this worldwide library catalog to see which libraries own a book. Once you've found the book you want, you can click on the "Get From Other Libraries (ILL)" link.
If all else fails, you can always try searching Google Books to see if you can access the partial or full text of the book you need!
Other options for finding articles:
Sometimes if the Library doesn't have the full text of an article, you can find it by searching for the article title in Google Scholar.
All Search - Articles Only
Find Articles in Journals
Selected Databases for Public Administration Research
Selected Databases
Use databases to find articles on your topic. These databases are the best place to start.
-
Social Science DatabaseProvides access to articles in journals and magazines in the various social science disciplines, including anthropology, economics, education, political science, social work, and sociology.
-
Global Issues in ContextProvides access to international newspapers, primary source documents, country information, statistics, background sources, and videos that support global awareness to help with understanding current world issues.
Tips & Tricks
- When searching databases, use AND, OR, and parentheses to focus your search.
- The asterisk * symbol will search for all variations of a word. For example: basket* will search for baskets and basketry. Using quotes will search for a phrase.
- Combine synonyms with OR and put them inside parentheses, like this:
("health care" OR "medical care") AND (law* OR bill*)
| Already have the citation? Find an article with citation linker! |
Watch this tutorial below to learn how to find full-text articles.
Ask a Librarian
Research Librarians
Contact:
Did you know...
Databases are basically just search engines for articles on specific subjects.
