Skip to main content

EDUC 6512: Contemporary Schooling in Society

Finding Articles

Newspapers

Databases with full text access to newspapers from around the world:

Journal Locator

Find specific journals,magazines, and newspapers.

Journals by Subject

 

Beyond the DNL

Can't find the book or article you want?

Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! With ILL, you can:

  • Use materials from other libraries' collections free of charge
  • Get articles via e-mail within 3-5 business days
  • Get books within 2 weeks
  • Be notified by e-mail when your items arrive (physical materials will be held at the Library in your name)

Request materials online:

Other options for finding books:

If all else fails, you can always try searching Google Books to see if you can access the partial or full text of the book you need!

Google Book Search

Other options for finding articles:

Sometimes if the Library doesn't have the full text of an article, you can find it by searching for the article title in Google Scholar.

Google Scholar Search

All Search - Articles Only

Find Articles in Journals


Advanced Search

Selected Databases

Use databases to find articles on your topic. These databases are the best place to start.

Finding ERIC Documents

Finding ERIC Documents

ERIC is available to Fairfield University students using the ProQuest database and also publicly accessible at http://eric.ed.gov/. There are two types of materials in ERIC: journal articles and grey literature.  Grey literature may include research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. 

  • These materials are noted with an ERIC number beginning with ED, for ERIC Document, instead of EJ, for ERIC Journal.
  • If you see"Download Full Text" in the grey box to the right of an article, then ERIC has permission for you to download the article for free. To limit to these articles, select the "ERIC linked full text" box in ProQuest or the "Full text available on ERIC" box if searching directly in ERIC. ERIC has identified a small percentage of PDF documents (about 5.5%) as unreadable and designated these as "PDF Pending Restoration." A more readable copy will be rescanned in the future. If so designated, you can then see if the library can provide access via microfiche or through Interlibrary Loan.
     
  • To find free access to the full text of other articles, contact the library to see if you can get access through another databases, via microfiche or through Interlibrary Loan.

    • Search Note: For ED resources marked "Level 3," full text is not available online or in microfiche.  See a librarian to find these items.

 

Ask a Librarian

Research Librarians's picture
Research Librarians
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University

Text: 203.295.7542
Schedule a research appointment