Skip to Main Content

UPDATES REGARDING LIBRARY RESOURCES AND SERVICES

The DiMenna-Nyselius Library is open. To learn more about our resources and services, visit the link below

More details here.

HIST 2215: Ireland from the Middle Ages to the Present

Citing Your Sources

Some resources for using Chicago Notes-Bibliography Style

New to RefWorks?

RefWorks logo

RefWorks is an online bibliography manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or databases. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the bibliography in seconds. 

Need help getting set up? Start Here

Citation Checklist

Use this Citation Checklist to avoid common errors ensure you get full credit for citations on your assignment.

Citing Your Sources

Chicago Manual of Style Online

The link above connects you directly with the most up-to-date online version of the Chicago Manual of Style.  This is also available as an electronic resource through the library catalog.

For more extensive online guides see:

Chicago Style Guide (Fairfield University)

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Print copies of the Chicago Manual of Style are available:

  • behind the Library Services and Information Desk in the library.
  • as a handout at the Library Services and Information Desk - ask the librarian for a copy!
  • with the call number Z253 .U69 2010 on both the main floor and upper levels of the library.

Sample Papers - Footnotes and Endnotes

The following sample papers feature all the essential elements of creating a work-cited page using Chicago Notes-Bibliography Citation Style. The first (from Hacker/Sommers, Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2010) uses endotes; the second example (from the Purdue Owl website) uses footnotes.

Writing Style

For help improving your writing style, check out these resources:

ALSO:

Click HERE to make an appointment with the Writing Center on the lower level of the Library.

PowerPoint Guide to Chicago Notes-Bibliography Citation Style

The following powerpoint guide outlines detailed and comprehensive use of the Chicago Notes-Bibliography Citation Style.