Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UPDATES REGARDING LIBRARY RESOURCES AND SERVICES

The DiMenna-Nyselius Library is open. To learn more about our resources and services, visit the link below

More details here.

ENW100 - Summer Session II

Databases with Peer-Reviewed Articles

Below is a list of databases you can use to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. Keep in mind that the library has 120+ databases to choose from; this list was curated by a Librarian based on the needs of your assignment. Here are a few things to consider before selecting a database:

  • Research GuidesIf you would like to search in databases not listed here, check out our research guides. We have guides for different disciplines and at the top of each guide is a Find Articles box containing a list of databases. Those databases also contain the scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.
    • When choosing a course guide, think about your research question and/or essay prompt. Which discipline(s) does it fall under? Based on this assignment and the topic you choose, you might use guides such as (but not limited to): psychology, politics, sociology, education, English, or communication.
  • IMPORTANTThese databases contain scholarly journals that are not all peer-reviewed. That being said, the databases provide a way to limit your search to only articles published within peer-reviewed journals. You can do this either before or after running a search, but make sure that you do! Or else, you may select a scholarly journal that is not peer-reviewed.
  • Still not sure what to do? Check out our tutorial on how to find peer-reviewed articles. It provides instructions on how to use the search box on our homepage to search within dozens of databases at the same time, limiting only to scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles.

Rhetoric & Composition Resources

For much more information on how rhetoric and composition are being taught at Fairfield University, check out the website for the Core Writing team! That page also contains specific ENGL 1001 information like learning outcomes and threshold concepts.

You can view two of their textbooks here:

Rhet/Comp Open Resources
Rhet/Comp Key Databases
Rhet/Comp Key Journals