Research Guides: AHST 1112: Roman Art (Rose): News Sources

Find Magazines and Newspapers

The Library provides current, free-to-you access to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Chronicle of Higher Education. Click here for info on how to create accounts with all three!

Newspapers with Both Current and Historical Coverage

Nation Archive
Contains all issues of The Nation, beginning with its first in 1865 to the present. Articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles are included.
Newspaper Source Plus
Contains full-text access to major international and national newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Funded in part by the generosity of the Flora and Jeremiah Buckley Library Fund. Contains local, regional, national, and international news with deep archives. Provides extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes as well as law reviews. Also includes business information on U.S. and international companies.

Includes:
• Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, blogs, local-regional-national-international newspapers with deep archives
• Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790
• Business information on U.S. and international companies and executives
US Newsstream
Enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.

Contains full-text acess to national and regional newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.

Newspapers With Only Historical Coverage

African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998

A full-text collection of newspapers published by or for African Americans.
Connecticut Historical Newspapers
A collection of eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers published in Connecticut. Content includes general news, election returns, legislative acts, letters, poetry, shipping news, and advertisements.
New York Times - Historical
Provides every issue in PDF format from 1851 (with a three year embargo). Includes news articles, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, advertisements, and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant
Access to digitized issues of the Hartford Courant from 1764-1922. Access to 1992-Present is available in U.S. Newsstream.

Chronicling America
An Internet-based, searchable database of historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages being developed and maintained by the Library of Congress. Digitized material currently covers the historic period 1756-1963.

Magazines with Both Current and Historical Coverage

Academic Search Premier

This multidisciplinary database contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, and videos.

Magazines With Only Historical Coverage

Life Magazine Archive

Collection of cover-to-cover format archives of Life Magazine, from the very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000.
Sports Illustrated Archive

A cover-to-cover format archive of Sports Illustrated Magazine, from its very first issue in August 1954 through December 2000.
Time Magazine Archive

A cover-to-cover format archive of Time Magazine, dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000.

NYT/WSJ Digital Subscription from the Library
In addition to physical and electronic books and other resources, the DiMenna-Nyselius Library provides the Fairfield University community with direct access to the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Chronicle of Higher Ed. Through group access passes, each current member of the Fairfield U student body, faculty, and staff is given the opportunity to claim their own free digital subscription to these publications, eliminating article limits and paywalls.