Hello! This is the online course guide for EN 161: Irish Literature. I've put some links here to things that you might find useful for your research in this class. Here's what you can expect to find on this guide:
Background Sources: This tab provides examples of the type of background sources you may find useful for starting your research. Background sources are specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc that can help give you an overview of a topic, give you definitions of key terms, and point you in the direction of futher reading. Note that these aren't the types of sources you want to cite in your papers. Rather, they are designed to give you a starting point and key terms that you can use to find the types of resources you can cite. We have many more background sources for you than the ones I've listed here. To find more, use the search box on the Finding Books tab and limit your results to Reference.
Finding Books: This tab provides you with a search box to search the catalog for books. You can search by topic or author. To find information about an author, just type in their name and select subject from the drop-down menu. To find things that somone has written, type their name in the search box and select author. Books can be helpful to get indepth information about a particular subject, as well as a wider range of coverage on a topic area (as compared to journal articles). Most academic texts are organized and written in such a way that you dont' need to read the whole thing to find it useful. Focus in on specific chapters that are relevant to what you need. Use the index and table of contents to find information quickly.
Finding Articles: This tab provides some databases where you can find journal articles related to your research. Some of the datbases contain literary criticism, and some provide historical and sociological material that will help you understand the context related to your texts. You should be able to find a lot of what you need in these databases, but if not we many more to choose from. Just let me know and I can recommend some to you.
Websites: The two websites on this page are good places to find historical documents and primary sources related to a wide variety of topics related to Irish literature and history.
Citing Your Sources: Everything you need to properly cite your sources in MLA format.
If you have any problems with the work you do for this class, please don't hesitate to contact me. I'd be more than happy to work with you.
(thanks for Curtis Ferree for the original draft of this guide)