Created by Alexander Street Counseling, a collection of films for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Search by themes such as family relationships, race, gender, substance abuse, or eating disorders. Includes dramatized counseling sessions, lectures, and personal narratives.
Also known as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Films on Demand contains streaming videos in a variety of academic disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, business and economics, science and mathematics, health and medicine, and archival films and newsreels. Public performance rights for students, faculty and staff is included if no admission is charged.
Kanopy is a streaming video platform that provides access to a wide variety of films from some of the industry's leading producers and distributors, including Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation (MEF), First Run Features, PBS and BBC Active. Public performance rights for students, faculty and staff is included if no admission is charged.
Subject areas covered include the Arts, Business, Education, Global Studies & Languages, Health, History, Languages & Literature, Media & Communications, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Technical Training.
Library Databases with Video as Secondary Content
The databases listed below contain video along with other content, such as articles. Databases that allow you to filter your results for video are designated.
Comprehensive selection of key business journals, most of which are in full-text, as well as trade publications, conference proceedings, and market reports. Covers accounting, economics, finance, information technology, management, marketing, and real estate, with hundreds of industries such as oil, energy, the environment, and healthcare management.
Contains both scholarly and general interest journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles, with podcasts, video, and news transcripts.
DigitalCommons@Fairfield, an institutional repository service of the DiMenna-Nyselius Library, offers open access to the collected scholarship and creative works of Fairfield University faculty, students and staff. The purpose of this repository is to increase the visibility of the University's scholarship, maximize its research impact, and provide worldwide access in order to further the University mission of expanding knowledge, deepening human understanding, and sharing expertise.
Delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, pamphlets, and videos from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. View top headlines directly from the home page in a section called “Topics in the News.” Includes both scholarly and general interest content.
A collection of full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents, and scholarly analysis that covers the most-studied events and issues in U.S. history. Contains image galleries of seals, maps, and flags; video and audio from NBC, NPR and other reliable sources; and opposing viewpoint essays.
A collection of full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents, and scholarly analysis that covers over 5,000 years of world history from antiquity to the present. Contains historical maps, atlases, and other images; video and audio selections from archival newsreels to NPR; and opposing viewpoint essays.
Designed for secondary school students through college undergraduates, this database contains full- text reference books, encyclopedias, primary source documents, and history periodicals. Includes biographies of historical people, photos, maps, and video of significant 20th century events.
This database supports inquiry into today’s most significant issues and problems, including cyber bullying, bioterrorism, gun violence, abortion, identity theft, smoking, world poverty, transgender rights, performance enhancing drugs, and many other topics. Includes historical background and contemporary perspectives from a variety of primary and secondary sources, as well as images, audio, and video.
Provides indexing and abstracting for leading nursing and healthcare journals, with many articles in full-text. Topics include alternative and complimentary medicine, cytology, nutrition, oncology, pediatric care, pharmacology, public health, and radiology. Also includes full-text dissertations representing scholarship in nursing and related fields, and MedCom training videos.
Contains information on popular culture in America, both past and present. Covers a wide variety of topics such as consumer culture, fashion, entertainment and performance arts, the visual arts, food and drink, recreation and leisure, technology, and sports. Includes cultural overview essays broken down by decade and provides images, maps, and videos.
Science in Context contains articles from full text academic journals, science-related magazines and newspapers, multimedia records including pictures, and illustrations. A wide variety of subjects are covered, including earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography. Contains audio and video clips and images. Updated: Regularly.