Wireless & Laptops: Bring your own laptop or borrow one from the library for up to 3 hours. Wireless internet available everywhere.
To print you must have your StagCard.
B/W Double-sided - 28¢/side
B/W One-sided - 15¢/page
Color Double-sided - 74¢/page
Color One-sided - 40¢/page
Helpful Research Terms
Abstract - a brief summary or description of an article or book. Articles in academic journals usually have an abstract. Some databases and indexes will provide an abstract along with the citation for a work.
All Search - the default search box on the Library’s home page that allows you to search for items from the Library’s catalog and from most of the databases simultaneously using a Google-like search
Bibliography - a list of the resources used for research usually located at the end of a book, article, or research paper. You will include a bibliography of the resources you used for research. Sometimes a bibliography refers to a collection of information sources on a specific topic published as a book.
Call Number - a group of letters and/or numbers located on the spine of a book or item that identifies it in a library and provides a way for organizing library materials. Most academic research libraries in the United States use the Library of Congress Call Number System. An example of what a call number could look like is LB1025.2 .N456 1998. In order to find the item on the shelf you will need to know its call number.
Catalog – a database of the materials accessible via the library which you can use to search for an item by its author, title, subject or keyword to see if it is available and where it is located
Citation - a reference to a book, magazine or journal article, or other work containing all the information necessary to identify and locate that work. There are many different citation format styles; examples include the MLA style, the Chicago style, the APA style. Ask your professor to find out what style is used in your discipline.
Database - a collection of information stored in an electronic format that can be searched by a computer. You can find a full list of all the databases at Fairfield University’s Library here
Dissertation – original research written as a prerequisite for a doctoral degree.
Ebook or Electronic Book - an electronic version of a book that can be read on a computer.
Full-text – a complete electronic copy of a resource, usually an article, that can be viewed on a computer. Many of the Library's databases provide full-text articles
Interlibrary Loan – a service offered to students, faculty and staff by the Fairfield University library to borrow materials held by other libraries. There is no charge for this service, but you need to create a free account in the interlibrary loan system called ILLiad. Additional information may be found here.
Journal - a publication distributed on a regular basis that contains articles on research or studies in a particular field
Keyword search - using a specific term to conduct a search in a database on the web
Magazine - a publication with articles often intended for recreational reading aimed at a more general audience than journals are
Net ID – the username and password combination you use at Fairfield University to access to e-mail and network resources, required to enable off-campus access to online library resources such as ebooks and databases.
Paraphrase - to write the information in your own words
Peer-Review – a step in the publishing process when research articles are evaluated for quality by experts in the discipline prior to publication in a journal
Periodical – a publication which is distributed at regular intervals ( weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.)
Remote Access – being able to connect to electronic resources from off-campus
Request It – a feature on the catalog that will allow you to recall items that are checked out, or request a hold for later pickup of items that are listed in the catalog as available
Credits for terms and definitions:
New York University - http://guides.nyu.edu/InternationalStudents
University of Denver - http://libguides.du.edu/internationalstudentguide
UC Davis - http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/instruc/research/guides/glossary.php#p