Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections

HI 10 - Chicago NB Style Guide

How to Cite Online Sources

Below you will find a number of examples of how to cite sources specifically from Fairfield University History Online.

(For questions about how to cite other types of online sources, please refer to the Fairfield University Citation Style Guide for Chicago Notes-Bibliography.)

 

Example 1: Newspaper article

 

Bibliography:

 

O’Brien, William.  “Faculty Forum Probes Vietnam Issues.” Stag, November 16, 1966.  Fairfield University History Online (ST19661116). 

 

  OR

 

O’Brien, William.  “Faculty Forum Probes Vietnam Issues.” Stag, November 16, 1966.   http://digital.fairfield.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/studentnews/id/175/rec/1

 

First Note:

    6. William O’Brien, “Faculty Forum Probes Vietnam Issues,” StagNovember 16, 1966.  Fairfield University History Online (ST19661116).     

  OR

  6. William O’Brien, “Faculty Forum Probes Vietnam Issues,” Stag, November 16, 1966.  http://digital.fairfield.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/studentnews/id/175/rec/1

Shortened Note:

    7. O’Brien, "Faculty Forum."

 

Example 2: Course Catalog (1940s)

 

Bibliography:

College of Arts and Sciences Entrance Bulletin – Undergraduate Course Catalog (1947-1948).  Fairfield, CT: Fairfield University, 1947. Fairfield University History Online.

First Note:

    5. College of Arts and Sciences Entrance Bulletin – Undergraduate Course Catalog (1947-1948), (Fairfield, CT: Fairfield University, 1947), Fairfield University History Online, 24.

Shortened Note:

    6. CAS Entrance Bulletin (1947-1948), 24. 

 

Example 3: Course Catalog (1980s)

Bibliography

Undergraduate Course Catalog (1981-1982) – College of Arts and Sciences; School of Business; School of Nursing.  Fairfield, CT: Fairfield University, 1981.  Fairfield University History Online.

First Note:

    5. Undergraduate Course Catalog (1981-1982) – College of Arts and Sciences; School of Business; School of Nursing (Fairfield, CT: Fairfield University, 1981), Fairfield University History Online, 36.

Shortened Note:

    6. Undergraduate Course Catalog (1981-1982), 36. 

 

Example 4: Book or Report

Bibliography

Duffy, Rev. Charles F., S.J.  Chronicles of Fairfield University (1942-1992).  Book 1: The Founding Years.  Fairfield, CT: Fairfield University, 1992.  Fairfield University History Online.

First Note:

2. Rev. Charles F. Duffy, S.J.  Chronicles of Fairfield University (1942-1992).  Book 1: The Founding Years.  (Fairfield, CT: Fairfield University, 1992), Fairfield University History Online, 17.

Shortened Note:

    3. Duffy, Chronicles, Book I, 17. 

 

Example 5: Manor (Yearbook)

Bibliography

Manor 1960.  Fairfield, CT: Fairfield University, 1960.  Fairfield University History Online.

First Note:

2. Manor 1960.  (Fairfield, CT: Fairfield University, 1960), Fairfield University History Online, 68.

Shortened Note:

    3. Manor 1960, 68. 

 

Example 6: Photograph

Bibliography

Perry, Art.  Audience on Alumni Field at Commencement 1951.  Photograph.  Fairfield, CT: Fairfield University, 1951.  From Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections, Fairfield University History Online.  JPG and TIFF files.  http://digital.fairfield.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/fuhp/id/282/rec/24

First Note:

5. Art Perry.  Audience on Alumni Field at Commencement 1951.  JPG and TIFF files.  http://digital.fairfield.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/fuhp/id/282/rec/24

Shortened Note:

6. Perry, Audience on Alumni Field.

 

Example 7: Poster

Bibliography

Fairfield University Glee Club 1973.  Poster. Fairfield, CT: Fairfield University, 1973.  From Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections, Fairfield University History Online.  PDF file.  http://digital.fairfield.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/memorabilia/id/17/rec/60

First Note:

5. Fairfield University Glee Club 1973, Fairfield University History Online.

Shortened Note:

6. Fairfield University Glee Club 1973.

 

How to Cite Print Material from the Archives

Citing Print Material from the Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections

Here are some examples of how to cite print items from the Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections.  I have used color coding to help link the citation element to the citation itself so this makes more sense.  Obviously, your real bibliography will not be color-coded!

 

·       Title and information about the item itself.  This could include author and date information (such as in the case of a letter) where applicable.  Note: you may have to supply a title of the item yourself, for example: Campus Ministry Brochure 1980.

 

·       Collection or record group of which the item is a part.  (Also include subcollection, series , or subseries of which the item is a part, if applicable.

 

·       Box and folder name or number in which the item is found (if applicable)

 

·       Repository where the original is held. This will always be: Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections, Fairfield University, Fairfield, CT

 

·       Page number if any

 

Example 1: Letter in Student Clubs files

 

 Bibliography

 

Student Clubs (1948-1962). Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections, Fairfield University, Fairfield, CT.

 

First Note:

 

1.     T.J.F. Pinkman, Memorandum to the Reverend Father Dean, May 4, 1962, Student Clubs 1948-1962, Box 1, Folder 6 - Business Club, Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections, Fairfield University, Fairfield, CT, 2.

 

Shortened Note:

 

2.     Pinkman, Memorandum to Fr. Dean, 2.

 

 

Example 2: Course brochure from Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

 

Bibliography:

 

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee 1968-1989, Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections, Fairfield University, Fairfield, CT.

 

First Note:

 

11.  Asian Studies at Fairfield University course brochure, November 17, 1986, Undergraduate Curriculum Committee 1968-1989, Box 5, Folder 4 – Asian Studies Minor, Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections, Fairfield University, Fairfield, CT.

 

Shortened note:

 

12. Asian Studies at Fairfield University course brochure.

 

Some Questions that Come Up - and Answers

Q: What is the title of the (poster, photograph, book, report, essay)?

A: In the item record, scroll down the page and you will see the metadata or catalog information for the item. (You can also click on the “view description” link at the top of the page and it will go there automatically.)  Use the word or phrase that is listed under Title.

Q: If an item has two dates (a date range like 1947-1948) which date should go in the citation?

A: There are often date ranges in these archival items due to the academic year starting in September of one year and going through May of the following year.  The date range will probably be included in the item title, or collection title, which is fine.  As for the date element of the citation, please use the first date in the date range as your year.

Q: How do I cite a newspaper or journal article from Fairfield University History Online?

A: When citing articles from a database, Chicago Notes-Bibliography Style gives you the option of citing the Database (Accession No.) OR the stable url.  Instead of an accession number, please use the identifier of the item in Fairfield University History Online that is at the bottom of the metadata.  (See below). The benefit of the identifier is that if you put that into the Fairfield University History Online search box, your item immediately comes up.  This is our version of the accession number.

An acceptable bibliographic citation of an article found in the above newspaper is as follows:

O’Brien, William.  “Faculty Forum Probes Vietnam Issues.” Stag, November 16, 1966.  Fairfield University History Online (ST19661116).

Chicago Notes-Bibliography Style also gives you the option of using a stable url in lieu of the database name and accession number/identifier (found in the url address bar at the top of the page; or in the case of the yearbooks and course catalogs, in the metadata under Read Online.)  So the following is also acceptable:

O’Brien, William.  “Faculty Forum Probes Vietnam Issues.” Stag, November 16, 1966.  http://digital.fairfield.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/studentnews/id/175/rec/1

Database Name and Accession/Identifier, or stable url.  But both types of citation are acceptable for Chicago Notes-Bibliography Style.