Take a stroll down memory lane with the new Library exhibit: Promoting Children’s Literacy – A collaboration between the DiMenna-Nyselius Library and the Graduate School of Education and Allied Professions.
Visit the DiMenna-Nyselius Library during December, 2011 and January, 2012 to view our new exhibit, Promoting Children’s Literacy. The exhibit features some of the wonderful materials available in the library’s Curriculum Collection, created to support the Graduate School of Education and Allied Professions (GSEAP). The large cases in the lobby focus on popular children’s books that will evoke fond memories: Madeline by Ludwig Bemelans,Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak, Alice and Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, Harry Potter by JK Rowling, Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkein, and Lord of the Flies by William Golding.
The smaller cases just inside the library represent different GSEAP programs. Each case is devoted to a different program and contains materials from the Curriculum Collection that directly support it. Programs featured include the Early Learning Center, Elementary Education, Secondary Education, TESOL, World Languages, and Bilingual Education, Special Education, Educational Technology, and School Library Media.
The Curriculum Collection, located on the Main Level of the DiMenna-Nyselius Library, contains a selection of K-12 instructional materials. This collection is an essential resource for those studying and working in education. Materials are available in a variety of formats, including books, multimedia, computer software, periodicals and educational kits. Our collection is constantly updated and includes award-winning titles including Caldecott, Newbury, Coretta Scott King, and Nutmeg books.
Visit the Curriculum Collection, located on the Main floor of the Library, to check out the Library’s wonderful collection of children’s material.